New Spaceship

Today, I am revisiting a project that I have done last year and redoing it in a different way. his time, I will make a spaceship from a single cube.

Capture201801

First things first, I inserted the Polygon Cube into the model from the Polygons Tab. So far, so relatively primitive.

I then added new faces thanks to the Extrude Tool in the Polygons tab. This caused said cube to transform into something crude, but the mesh will be edited to be more complex.

Thanks to the Insert Edge Loop tool in the Mesh Tools menu, I can be more of a manipulator of the mesh body, resulting in this.

I will answer new questions that will be used throughout this course.

What have you learnt about modelling in Maya?

Being honest, nothing. This is because I have already learned all of the stuff from the previous year. However, I have used the tools more and more, meaning I am mastering them, which will help me towards modelling in the future.

What problems have you stumbled across, and how did/can you overcome them?

I have actually only come cross one problem, that being a pair of faces going black, but I sorted it out by moving the neighbouring faces in the opposite direction of where they were facing. That was incredibly easy to solve.

What is good about your project and why?

I like the base model much better than the previous one I did, mainly because it is more detailed and less blocky. I also liked how more like a spaceship it is compared to the original one I did, which looked more bird-like than spaceship-like.

What could be improved and how?

Obviously, it has no texture, but that will be done when I do UV Unwrapping next week. I could also make it a little more smooth, which I will make sure will happen when I do a more complex ship sometime soon, using more complicated tools.

One thought on “New Spaceship

Leave a comment